

What Is Tour de France?

The Tour de France is one of the world's largest bicycle events.

It starts at the beginning of July and lasts for 3 weeks.

The entire race covers around 3300km in total!

The overall winner of the race is the cyclist who has ridden the whole route in the lowest accumulated time.

Each day there is a winner of each individual stage.

The route for the Tour de France changes every year, but usually finishes at the Champs-Élysées in Paris, as it has done every year since 1975.

The tour begins each year in a different country. This year it begins on an island off the French coast.



What Is Tour de France?

During the late 19th century, cycling became a very popular hobby for many people. As time went on, organised bike racing was introduced. Professional cycling became very big in France and as radio, TV and the internet was yet to be released, people got their cycling news and information from newspapers.

Sports papers such as "Le Vélo" sprung up to cover cycling stories in depth. They soon found out that by promoting races, they were growing to be successful. L'Auto was a smaller rival paper, which was desperate to increase popularity. The journalist Géo Lefévre proposed the idea of organising a big cycle race through France.

On the 6th July 1903, 60 cyclists set off from the Au Reveil Matin Café in the suburbs of Paris. They covered 2,428km in a circular route through six stages. 18 days later, 21 of the cyclists made the finish line back in Paris. The first ever winner was Maurice Garin. Le Tour de France was born! The race has taken place each year since then, except from during the war. As the tour became more popular, the course became longer and more challenging mountain climbs were introduced.

Jerseys

Instead of winning medals or awards, the cyclists participating in the Tour de France win different coloured jerseys.



Île de Noirmoutier 2018

This year, the race will be starting on Saturday 7th July on Île de Noirmoutier, an island off the west coast of France. The race will start with a presentation of the teams.



Tour de France Route - Stages

The race consists of 21 stages and covers 3,329km (2069 miles) in total. There will be eight flat stages, five hilly stages, six mountain stages plus one individual and one team time-trial.





2018 Teams

There are 18 teams and 4 wildcards. Here are just a few of the teams that will be racing:



Facts

The entire race covers approximately 3300km.

The Grand Départ is usually held outside of France.

Over 188 countries around the world broadcast Tour de France.

The last hour of every stage is broadcast live across Western Europe.

1,200 hotel rooms are reserved each night for the teams, staff, press and tour personnel.

The Tour de France attracts 12 million spectators across the route.

Yorkshire's Brian Robinson was the first Brit to win a stage of Tour de France in 1958.

Bradley Wiggins became the first British rider to win the Tour de France in 2012. This was followed by a second British winner, Chris Froome, in 2013.





